top of page

How to take better selfportraits


One thing that I am increasingly enjoying is to get up early in the morning to photograph. Firstly, the light is amazing, but it is also a lot more peaceful than during the day when everyone starts to hustle and you can really feel the stress level increase. It is a completely different feeling when I photograph at such an odd time of the day. Waking up at 05 AM and taking the first bus after the night bus down to the beach was something I actually never did before, but something I will definitely do again! For me morning light is definitly the best light. Golden hour as it's also called!

I felt like I suddenly found myself on Island or something like that. And you know what? It was truly an experience to photograph all the images on my own, by myself, using remote and tripod. Maybe I'm a control freak or I just like to get the picture just the way I want it (haha maybe a control freak after all...). But it's something special about taking self-portraits.

Favorite accessories from Zara. I really love to combine different jewelery of different lengths and it can almost never be too much when they are so simple in style. Not too long ago I started using chokers and have become a big fan of them since then. Like for many others, it became a must to freshen up an outfit.

Caps and hats overall have also become something I use more often. This hat from H&M in matt fabric is one of my favorites, black works for everything!

My tips for better self-portraits:

  • Dare to go out for photography! Bring a tripod, self-timer, and let no thought stop you from photographing the self-portrait you always dreamt of.

  • Play with different camera angles. The best camera angle may not always be the most obvious one. For example, try to raise or lower the camera and check regularly how the images will be with the new adjustment.

  • Take many pictures! You do not want to notice when you're home that the pictures did not come out as you imagined. That's why taking an extra hour photographing is much more worth. Maybe you'll find an even better angle or idea.

  • Dare to try different poses! Now when you are taking self-portraits - no one else is watching, except if people may be passing by. Anyways, in most cases you are self-sufficient and therefore you have no excuse not to behave like you are ;) Dance, flip your hair back and forth, try a pose you have never tested, etc. There is no rules, just have fun!

  • Keep in mind: Be careful not to leave your camera equipment far away on a tripod If you are among people. In that case It's better to bring someone who can stand and "guard" your equipment if you are outdoors. But preferably it's best to take them on a place that's just a bit quieter and not crowded with people who might steal before you even blink.

bottom of page